Monday, 24th February, 2020


Dhoni's team already in IPL 2018 finals; officials say they wanted to save time and money

03, Nov 2017 By Akash Vadera

Indian Premier League, famously known as IPL, is one of the world’s most renowned and costliest cricket leagues, in which players from our country as well as abroad play together. IPL completed 10 seasons this year, out of which Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s team has reached the finals 7 times. Owing to this, IPL officials have decided that Dhoni’s team will directly play the finals of IPL 2018 with the table topper from the other 7 teams. Dhoni

Sanjeev Shukla, official spokesperson for the IPL, gave out the following details during a press conference organized on Sunday and said, “Yes we have decided that Dhoni’s team will directly play the IPL 2018 finals. Ever since IPL started in 2008, Dhoni’s team has reached the finals 7 times, in 2008, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015 and 2017. In fact in 2012, Dhoni’s team reached the play-offs because other 2 teams lost when they needed to win in the last match. It was a case of winning by default.”

“After analyzing all the finals and evaluating the data, we came to the conclusion that Dhoni’s team reaching the finals has more probability even than Sreesanth fixing a match. And mind you this is a very high probability. Since we can’t avoid the inevitable, we decided to move with the flow. Also, crores of rupees and equal worth of time and resources are spent on conducting a single IPL match. So directly pushing one team to the finals would prove to be very cost and time-effective. Consider this as a bright kid getting directly promoted to the 10th standard from the 8th standard,” he added.

Dhoni was unavailable for comment but since this news and the other news that CSK is back in 2018, came out, Raina and Jadeja were seen celebrating.